Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Archive for discussions from 2003. Please post new discussions in the appropriate forum.

Moderators: Matthew, neps, Michael Pajaro

User avatar
Sith
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Korriban
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Sith » Sat Nov 23, 2002 6:08 pm

Well, I got the PS2 version this afternoon.

Two hours later, I'd finished it on hard. Tut.

In a nutshell, its WAY too short! A mere 15 levels, some of which can be done in just a few minutes. The difficulty level is far too easy, and they are over generous with allowance on time limits for set objectives.

Its a shame, as they get so much right. The graphics, whilst not stunning, are smooth, and the frame rate is constant. You get a real sense of speed when at higher speeds, especially in SPM.

The controls, all make sense, and work as you would expect. Ski mode, night vision, turbo boost, and SPM are all easy to pull off and combine together for "interesting stunts"... [img]images/smiles/icon_wink.gif[/img]

The handling of KITT at first is a little odd. It reminds me of the Need For Speed games. You either get horrendous understeer, and end up oversteering into a tankslapper, or turning too much to start with, and find yourself fish tailing while trying to go in a straight line! [img]images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif[/img] Having said that, you do get used to it, and thank goodness you use the analogue joystick as opposed to the Directional pad. lol

The sound effects are near identical to the show, except the engine sound is missing the traditional aircraft whine when it goes past camera. Grr.

But for two hours, it was terribly good fun! It was fast, strangely addictive, and those turbo boosts look bloody ace! Its just such a shame its so short. The game has a distinct "unfinished" feel to it. The game comes on a PS2 disc, as opposed to a DVD. That should tell you how little code actually exists.

As for the storyline, it was pretty weird. Just a mishmash of old foes, Goliath, Garth, and KARR. Sure, it was fun to battle them, but it felt like old ground also.

I for one sincerely hope they do a sequel. Double the size, introduce an original plot, maybe a 2 player mode, and they will have a stunning game. As this game stands, its good... while it lasts. But does two hours of fun, and little replay value warrant laying out £29.99? (or whatever the price is in the USA?) My advice, rent it out, much cheaper. [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Now... does anyone know the cheat code to play as KARR? [img]images/smiles/icon_razz.gif[/img]

User avatar
Knight Racer
FLAG Special Ops
Posts: 3376
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Knight Racer » Sat Nov 23, 2002 7:58 pm

I ahve to agree with you on the improvements.I think i'm going to start a thread about what improvents people would like in the game.One i agree with you on is the 2 player mode.It would ahve been cool if we could choose a car or any of the vehicles used int he game to race against each other in any level in the game,our choice.As for secret codes maybe we can run a few codes by the start screen and use different cars.Like all the tkr cars,kro,kift,maybe the juggernaught,goliath,or maybe any of the other cars that wrere used int he show like the one with the barrel on the front or the one witht he spikes in the front like in custom made killer or knight racer.

I will start a new thread about improvements soon.

User avatar
knightimmortal
FLAG Special Ops
Posts: 2197
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Taos, NM, USA
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by knightimmortal » Sat Nov 23, 2002 8:04 pm

How about you conserve on board space, and just add to this one?

knightimmortal

Thrakhath
Stranger
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: CT
Contact:

pc game

Post by Thrakhath » Mon Nov 25, 2002 12:04 am

So anybody find some cheats for the game? also i cant get any screenshots to work. i do print screen button and paint and there is nothing there. anything i can do?

Overall what you guys think about the game?


I personaly think it was a good attempt. But kitt is too slow. my car goes quite faster than 124 mph. Oh well cant really complain too much. :-)

User avatar
knightimmortal
FLAG Special Ops
Posts: 2197
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Taos, NM, USA
Contact:

pc game

Post by knightimmortal » Mon Nov 25, 2002 12:06 am

There are several other threads on this subject, you might want to go ahead and look through them to get a bit of an idea what others are thinking about the game.

knightimmortal

User avatar
Sith
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Korriban
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Sith » Mon Nov 25, 2002 6:36 pm

Someone said the developers were reading this board.

If thats the case, WHATS THE CODE TO PLAY AS KARR?? [img]images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

Thank you. LOL

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Skav » Mon Nov 25, 2002 7:41 pm

Got my game today! Haven't played much of it yet even though that means me completing about 4-5 levels already. everyone is right..it is easy. the controls are fine although working it with analogue is a bit puzzling to work at first but it has a Gran Turismo handling to it. so the controls respond well even though Ski Mode is a bit hard to do but that's a relief since we need a bit of challenge!

where is that 'jet sound' to the engine that everyone said it had in it? it's not in my version. just a normal roaring engine sound.

it was so damn hard getting the game because several places wouldn't stock it. don't know the reason, they just wouldn't have it until the last store i reached had it.

i think this tells me this is basically a fan game. some stores may feel that not a lot of ppl will buy it...only the fans. must be the reason if they aren't stocking it.

anyways, all is good. the controls are fine, graphics are good even though kitt STILL looks blue and the gameplay is fun!

an easy recommend for fans!

Skav

Ghost Rider LSOV
Rookie
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Greece

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Ghost Rider LSOV » Tue Nov 26, 2002 5:30 am

KITT is only blue in the FMVs. In the game he's black.
And there should be a 'second' sound with the engine's sound that is like a jet's.

User avatar
Sith
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Korriban
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Sith » Tue Nov 26, 2002 8:34 am

Yeah, it would have been fabulous to hear that on the flyby. They should have repeated the turbo boost sound effect too on the slow mo's, just like the show. [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Skav » Tue Nov 26, 2002 9:56 am

nope, kitt still looks blue even through the gameplay. but that doesn't matter. he IS mostly black but the blue is quite apparent though.

the shine on kitt is lovely.

anyways i have a problem..ive been playing the game again and i completed the first two missions of training and chasing the robbery car...but it won't progress to the next stage...does anyone know why this is?

i don't even have a memory card and yet the first two missions are unlocked...unless this is normal but as i said, i can't progress to the 3rd stage of scanning the (museum?). my brother played it yesterday and it got to that stage without a problem but i am having problems now.

any help will be appreciated.

Skav

User avatar
Sith
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Korriban
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Sith » Tue Nov 26, 2002 10:24 am

Are you playing on the mission screen?

If so, you have to play through the campaign to unlock the missions on the missions menu. [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Skav » Tue Nov 26, 2002 10:46 am

that's weird because all i am seeing is empty memory card blocks i think. i can't seem to do anything with it or get anything started.

once i am in this section, then how do i get things working? LOL.

thanks a bunch

Skav

User avatar
Sith
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Korriban
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Sith » Tue Nov 26, 2002 10:50 am

Looks like you need a memory card mate.

It autosaves as you go along you see. [img]images/smiles/icon_sad.gif[/img]

User avatar
Sith
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Korriban
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Sith » Tue Nov 26, 2002 1:36 pm

Go back to the building you need to scan. There is a ramp immediately next to it. You go up that ramp, and there is a crate blocking you. Turbo boost over that, and into the small building. Then turbo again to the roof in front of you. Turbo from there to your diagonal left, and from that roof, you can get to the micro jam on the roof with another turbo. [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Skav » Tue Nov 26, 2002 3:17 pm

Okay, thanks a lot. I'll have a go but that sounds MEGA hard lol.

Skav

Ghost Rider LSOV
Rookie
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Greece

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Ghost Rider LSOV » Tue Nov 26, 2002 5:01 pm

Don't worry. Think of that part as a platform game stuff. [img]images/smiles/icon_wink.gif[/img]

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Skav » Tue Nov 26, 2002 6:32 pm

I did it, now all i gotta do is figure out how to scan the two buildings behind the brick wall as garthe has escaped from the helicopter i micro jammed. this one is bugging me real bad.

Oh yeah, got SPM!!! It is VERY cool!!!

found it quite puzzling how to use it at first since the L1 button never worked but you gotta hold it down. why the instructions never tell you this, ill never know.

Skav

User avatar
Sith
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Korriban
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Sith » Tue Nov 26, 2002 7:18 pm

Ok, remember the two stacks of crates you jumped on to get to the helicopter?

From the roof they lean next to, jump to the roof farthest away on your left. Then turbo to the big roof diagonally left of that. From there, there are pipes leading to another roof. Either use ski mode over them, or reverse and get good speed up and turbo the gap.

Once on that roof, there is a slope going up. Turbo off the top of that to the immediate roof in front of you. From there, there are pipes laid between the buildings over the road below. Use Ski Mode. You'll now be in the other compound. [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

TIP: If you cock up any of the jumps, just hit SELECT on your pad. It resets you to where you were. Hehe

User avatar
Skav
FLAG Operative
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Knight Rider Game PS2 Version: Review (SPOILERS)

Post by Skav » Wed Nov 27, 2002 12:43 am

nah, nevermind, i figured it out. i can play it normally now.

anyways, i am stuck a little bit. when your on the level when you gotta scan the building with the data in it without being detected, ive seen the little building but its stacked onto another building. trouble is, i can't find anywhere to jump onto it...even the crates opposite it are too large to jump onto.

ive spotted the long ramp that leads to the inside of some sort of little factory thing but ive tried leaping from that to the building but to no effect.

this has really stumped me. any suggestions?

Skav

garyu69
Stranger
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Knight Rider the Game - Review

Post by garyu69 » Wed Nov 27, 2002 5:58 am

Click here to read review

I thought people might be interested in this.

Keon
Volunteer
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Baltimore, Maryland

Knight Rider the Game - Review

Post by Keon » Wed Nov 27, 2002 2:53 pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by garyu69:
<STRONG>Click here to read review

I thought people might be interested in this.</STRONG><HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

thank for the article [img]images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

User avatar
DJGM
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Manchester, England, UK.
Contact:

KR game reviewed in UK's most popular tabloid newspaper.

Post by DJGM » Wed Nov 27, 2002 5:29 pm

Taken from the PowerPlay supplement in The Sun - 27/11/2002
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><HR>KNIGHT RIDER - THE GAME
FORMATS: PLAYSTATION2, PC
PUBLISHER: KOCH MEDIA
AVAILABLE: OUT NOW
AGE RATING: 3+

GET Kitt-ed out and drive one of TV's most famous cars in this all-action game
based on the TV series. Take the part of Michael Knight and drive KITT - the
supercar that can talk, chase helicopters in Super Pursuit Mode, scan buildings,
perform amazing jumps and more! Feastures ten action packed missions as you
settle scores with KITT's evil twin KARR, and mastermind Gareth.

GRAPHICS: 7/10
SOUND: 7/10
PLAYABILITY: 8/10
POWERPLAY RATING: 8/10

VERDICT: Enjoy the drive of your life as you go in hot pursuit with the amazing KITT.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Despite their typo (Gareth instead of Garthe) this is much needed good publicity for
the Knight Rider game, as "The Sun" is Britain's most popular newspaper, and this
particular review was printed in the center pages. Whether they actually based
their review on the PlayStation2 version, or the PC version, I don't know.

KIFT
Recruit
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Portugal
Contact:

KR game reviewed in UK's most popular tabloid newspaper.

Post by KIFT » Wed Nov 27, 2002 5:53 pm

could you scan that article and post it right here please?

User avatar
K.I.T.T
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: England
Contact:

KR game reviewed in UK's most popular tabloid newspaper.

Post by K.I.T.T » Wed Nov 27, 2002 6:26 pm

Great find!! I read the Sun allot and i missed that!...if you could get a copy of that, i would love to see it too!

K.I.T.T

User avatar
DJGM
FLAG Assistant
Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 1:01 am
What year did the original Knight Rider start: 0
Location: Manchester, England, UK.
Contact:

KR game reviewed in UK's most popular tabloid newspaper.

Post by DJGM » Wed Nov 27, 2002 9:31 pm

Unfortunately, I don't have a scanner, but I know someone who does . . .

Locked