Almost bought the Knight Rider 2010 car

Archive for discussions from 2009. Please post new discussions in the appropriate forum.

Moderators: neps, Matthew, Michael Pajaro

othermoviecars
Volunteer

Almost bought the Knight Rider 2010 car

Post by othermoviecars » Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:45 am

I have been negotiating for about 3 months with an auto dismantling junkyard in Ridgecrest which has the one and only prop car from "Knight Rider 2010". I was buying it with the intent to make it a wierd-as-hell daily driver to replace my commuter car which was on borrowed time. Well, the commuter car just got a lot worse so I dropped the original Knight Rider car and picked up a low mileage BMW 7 series instead to do a "Tomorrow Never Dies" James Bond car.

Currently it looks like the Knight Rider car is complete with the original hydraulic system to run the gadgets (including a functioning, aimable air-powered grenade launcher... that's not exactly street legal!)

Long story short, the yard wasn't the easiest to deal with, not because they were nasty per-se but because they were so short staffed that despite weekly calls they couldn't spare any personnel for an hour to show me the thing. They're still holding the car for me and have all of my contact info, so I figured before I called them to call it off I'd see if anyone was interested in picking up an original movie car on the cheap because if the yard heard from multiple buyers there's a distinct possibility the price would start going up or they'd decide it wasn't worth the hassle for the cheap price and would just crush the thing outright... it's sitting in a yard which is being decommissioned as we speak.